Bullying is Not a rite of passage

What is bullying?

Bullying is unwanted, repeated aggressive behavior among school age children. Bullying includes actions such as making threats, spreading rumors, attacking someone physically or verbally, and excluding someone from a group on purpose and so much more.

There have been too many physical attacks by children against children in our schools with no one doing a blessed thing to stop it! It is not a rite of passage. It is not “boys will be boys” or girls for that matter. Kids are beating the bloody crap out of each other repeatedly and many to the point where the one being bullied takes their own life because they cannot take it anymore, because the schools refuse to do a damn thing other than sweep it under the rug, excuse the behavior, wave it off….I was one of those kids who came close to committing suicide because I saw that as the only way to make it stop…to make it all stop.

Bullying also happens in families with siblings as well and it is not just sibling rivalry. It is downright bullying.

I was bullied relentlessly throughout middle and high school.  In middle school I had my books smacked from out of my arms going down the hallway, was pounded in the back so hard it literally took my breath away walking from one class to another.  I did go to the office and tell them I was being bullied and they did nothing about it. I was hurt, shocked and could not understand why they did not care and why they did nothing about it.  In one class there were a couple of boys who took joy in putting a dead bee and some other bug in my hair.  The teacher was walking around the classroom as he taught the lesson and had to notice this going on but he never said anything. In high school I was cornered in the girls bathroom by a trio of girls who proceeded to taunt me with words as they blew smoke from their cigarettes in my face.  In my culinary arts class shop I was shoved into the walk in freezer and locked in. I did not know that I could defend myself back then nor did I even know how… I wondered if anyone cared because no one ever took a step forward to make them stop.

The statistics on bullying and suicide are more than alarming. They should be a wake up call to parents and schools alike across the globe.

Did you know?

Over 3.2 million students are victims of bullying each year

Bully victims are between 2 to 9 times more likely to consider suicide than non-victims, according to studies by Yale University

Suicide is the third leading cause of death among young people, resulting in about 4,400 deaths per year, according to the CDC. For every suicide among young people, there are at least 100 suicide attempts. Over 14 percent of high school students have considered suicide, and almost 7 percent have attempted it.

Harassment and bullying have been linked to 75 percent of school-shooting incidents.

If you see someone getting bullied do something, say something, but don’t just stand by silently or walk away.

Read this heartbreaking story from one mother whose son barely escaped serious medical damage and is speaking out.  

“My name is Kelly Wheeler and I live in Demorest GA. My 15 yr old son is an honor student, 2nd year ROTC and became a member of the Varsity Wrestling Team as a Freshman. That’s when it began for him, his so called “friends.” Like most parents we were unaware of the situation for months. I suppose it began as “boys will be boys” behavior. Then it progressed from name calling to throwing basketballs, ect at him. then to “weggies” resulting in torn underwear. Destruction of his property, then to physical assault. My son was held and kick numerous times in his groin. He was bruised for several days, yet mentioned this to no one. Finally… thankfully… he reached his breaking point. When he finally had to let it out…. I was unprepared for the devestation that was looking back at me. I have never seen such pain in the face of anyone. That was no face of a stranger, it was my own son. At 140lbs & 5’10 he crawled into my lap as he began revealing the…”

READ MORE HERE

SOURCE MATERIAL:

http://youandmecanstopbullies.com/

http://www.stopbullying.gov/what-is-bullying/

http://www.dosomething.org/tipsandtools/11-facts-about-school-bullying

http://www.bullyingstatistics.org/content/bullying-and-suicide.html

Leave a Reply

